top of page
  • Writer's pictureTurn The Page Authors

Manavi Nag, Nonfiction Author


Manavi Nag is a 15 year-old published author from Mumbai, India. She has been writing for as long as she can remember and has a passion for non-fiction writing and creating informative articles. Q: When did you first begin writing? How old were you? A: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember! I would write stories all the time when I was younger, filled with scribbles and misspelled words and present them proudly to my parents! It has always given me such joy! I don’t remember when I first began writing because it’s been such a huge part of me for so long! It’s always been my favourite medium to communicate my thoughts through. As I grew older, I found my English class to always be my favourite in school and reading quickly became one of my favourite pass-times. Writing has made me so happy, since I can remember!

Q: What do you love about writing? A: I love so many things! I love that words have such power and can hold so much meaning and can be interpreted differently to so many different people. I love that writing allows me to express myself creatively and convey my thoughts in a conducive manner for other people to read. I love that writing has the power and strength to change mindsets, shift perspectives and educate people and I love that writing allows me to be my most authentic self and provides an outlet for me whenever I need it. 

Q: What type of writing do you produce? Why have you chosen this genre? A: I like to produce writing that educates people and provokes thought in them. That’s why I really enjoy writing articles and non-fiction stories. I like this genre because it has the depth and ability to shift perspectives and educate people. 

Q: What’s your most recent released project?

A: My most recent piece of work is a book that I have written called “Breaking the Taboo”. Breaking the Taboo follows the real-life stories of seven young girls and the trials, tribulations, struggles and hardships they gave whilst dealing with their period in a country where menstruation in considered a huge taboo. “Breaking the Taboo” is available on Amazon and 100% of royalties go to a Mumbai-based NGO. I wrote “Breaking the Taboo” to become one step closer to breaking the taboo surrounding menstruation in India and empowering women and girls to find pride in their period instead of shame. I fused my love for writing with my urge to break the taboo surrounding menstruation and produced the book “Breaking the Taboo”.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page